Special Links

The following links point to a small selection of sites (or books—go to the end) that are "special:"

General links about crank organs and mechanical music can be found e.g. in the Mechanical Music Digest, at the AMICA, or with a search engine on the Internet.

For legal reasons, I have to state the following: The contents of web sites linked on this page and elsewhere in www.haraldmmueller.de are not defined and presented by me. Therefore, I do not assume any responsibility for their correctness, and whether they are legal or illegal under the law of any country.

Jäger und Brommer, organ builders in Waldkirch (the Waldkirch, which once was the world center of mechanical music), not only build crank organs (as well as church organs), they are also active in keeping the organ tradition of Waldkirch alive, e.g., as co-founders of the Waldkircher Orgelstiftung (Waldkirch organ foundation)—and moreover, they built my 26er organ! They have everything from "20er" to organs with Ian Alderman's 26-note scale (like mine!) to big fair organs—e.g. the one designed by Otmar Alt for the 200 year organ building anniversary of Waldkirch.

Rudolf Klomfar—he punches paper rolls for me (and everyone else). He lives on 66 square feet filled with a punching machine, a few computers, and of course a few organs—or so it seemed to me when I visited him.

Mechanical Music Digest—the most important Internet mailing list + archive for mechanical music. Moderated and organized in an outstanding way by Jody Kravitz and Robbie Rhodes. A must for everyone interested in mechanical music!

Gesellschaft für Selbstspielende Instrumente in Germany is devoted to all aspects of mechanical instruments. Its journal is full of historical and restoring information.

Christian Wittmann - organ builder and arranger. Christian Wittmann builds perfect 20er organs - for rolls and also with MIDI control; Christian also built a Wurlitzer style 105 organ just for himself.

20er Favorites - a Seite of Gordie Davidson, which has - among others - recordings of some arrangements I wrote for Gordie; played on the great 20er "Bauchorgel" built by Christian Wittmann.

Charlie Moore's "Gem Roller Organ" web site. Using a computer-controlled pinning machine ("pin gun"?), Charlie produces pin rollers for the "Gem Roller Organ"—some of them with arrangements written by me.

The Crank Organ Ring is a web ring about crank organs (see bottom of my homepage).

NoteWorthy Composer—the music notation program I use.

Ramon Pajares' homepage shows what you can do with it. Very interesting: His collection of links regarding arranging and composing!

www.dolmetsch.com contains lots of information about harmonization and many other areas of music theory—mainly historical information, but also knowledge about jazz and about the many symbols and signs used in musical scores.

Not a WWW-Link, but in my opinion important for everyone who wants to arrange (or compose) music: Diether de la Motte's book "Wege zum Komponieren" (as far as I know, only available in German). Until now, I did not bring myself to working through it—I only read it, but this alone is worth it!

Organ music, but not in a church nor in a concert hall? Gershwin, Ragtimes, Hits? The Slapstick Rag by Helmut Schulte alone is worth a (virtual) visit to Potsdam's film museum!

... more will follow!

Home

© 24.10.2010 HMMüller

Special Links

Die folgenden Links sind "meine besonderen Links":

Allgemeine Links zu Drehorgelthemen findet man z.B. im Mechanical Music Digest, beim Club Deutscher Drehorgelfreunde (CDD), bei der Gesellschaft für Selbstspielende Musikinstrumente oder mit einer Suchmaschine im Internet.

Die Rechtssprechung vereinzelter deutscher (und möglicherweise anderer) Gerichte zwingt mich zu folgender Klarstellung: Auf die Inhalte von Web-Sites, auf die die Links auf dieser Seite hier und anderen Seiten meiner Web-Site www.haraldmmueller.de zeigen, kann ich keinen Einfluss nehmen. Ich übernehme daher keine Verantwortung für deren Inhalte und die Darstellung der Inhalte sowie dafür, ob diese Inhalte unter den Gesetzen irgendeines Landes legal oder illegal sind.

Die Orgelbauer Jäger und Brommer in Waldkirch bauen nicht nur Drehorgeln (und Kirchenorgeln), sondern sind auch aktiv an der Erhaltung der Drehorgeltradition beteiligt, u.a. als Mitbegründer der Waldkircher Orgelstiftung – und vor allem haben sie meine 26er Drehorgel gebaut! Dort gibt es alles von der 20er über Orgeln mit Ian Alderman's 26er-Skala (meine z.B.!) bis zu großen Jahrmarktsorgeln – z.B. jene für die 200-Jahre-Orgelbau-in-Waldkirch-Feier, die Otmar Alt gestaltet hat.

Rudolf Klomfar – er stanzt für mich (aber auch für andere) die Papierstreifen. Sein "Musikraum" hat geschätzte 6 Quadratmeter, die vollgefüllt sind mit Stanzmaschinen, Orgeln und Computern ...

Mechanical Music Digest ist die wichtigste Internet-Mailing-List+Archiv zum Thema mechanische Musikinstrumente. Wird von Jody Kravitz und Robbie Rhodes großartig moderiert und organisiert. Ein Muss für alle, die sich für mechanische Musik interessieren!

Gesellschaft für Selbstspielende Instrumente widmet sich fachlich hochstehend vielen, v.a. historischen Belangen und Restaurierungsaspekten mechanischer Musikinstrumente.

Christian Wittmann - Orgelbauer und Arrangeur. Christian Wittmann baut geniale 20er-Orgeln; und hat sich eine Wurlitzer-Style-105-Orgel nachgebaut.

20er Favorites - eine Seite von Gordie Davidson, u.a. mit Aufnahmen einiger meiner Arrangements, die ich für ihn geschrieben habe - aufgenommen auf der genialen 20er-Bauchorgel von Christian Wittmann.

Charlie Moores "Gem Roller Organ" Website. Charlie produziert mit einer computergesteuerten Bestiftungsmaschine ("Stift-Schuss-Apparat"?) richtige Walzen für die "Gem Roller Organ", u.a. mit Arrangements von mir.

Club Deutscher Drehorgelfreunde (CDD) – ist genau das: Ein Club von Drehorgelinteressierten, aber vor allem auch von Drehorgelspielern für alle Gelegenheiten.

NoteWorthy Composer – das Notenprogramm, das ich verwende.

Ramon Pajares' Homepage zeigt, was man mit NoteWorthy Composer alles machen kann. Seine Links enthalten wertvolle Hinweise zu allgemeinen Themen bezüglich Arrangieren und Komponieren.

www.dolmetsch.com enthält unter "Music Theory" auf englisch viel Informationen über Harmonielehre und andere Bereiche der Musiktheorie – vor allem historische Informationen, aber auch Wissen über Jazz sowie einen Überblick über die Notationen und Zeichen in der Musik.

Kein WWW-Link, aber meines Erachtens wichtig für jeden, der sich über Arrangieren (und Komponieren) drübertrauen will: Diether de la Mottes Buch "Wege zum Komponieren". Bis jetzt habe ich es nicht fertiggebracht, es ernsthaft durchzuarbeiten, aber allein das Durch-Lesen ist schon Eröffnung genug!

Orgelmusik, aber weder in einer Kirche noch in einem Konzertsaal? Noch dazu Gershwin, Ragtimes, Schlager? Allein der Slapstick-Rag von Helmut Schulte ist es wert, hier einmal vorbeizuschauen!

Und eine Seite aus der Schweiz ... www.drehorgel.ch

... weitere Links werden folgen!

Home

© 24.10.2010 HMMüller